That’s right. It’s nowhere near the time of year to reflect on the year. So I can’t quite give you a way over-thought Top 10 Album of the Year list. But here’s how excited I am that it’s even on the horizon: REEALLY excited!

I’m so excited, in fact, that this year I’ve decided to outdo myself twice and combine a useless hobby (creating Top 10 Album lists every year) and my apparently history-oriented OCD (my record collection is organized chronologically) and create a Top 10 Albums of the Year list for 2001 and 1991, in addition to 2011.

I figure, I started listening to music by choice (“mom, can we puhleeeez turn on the radio?”)  at about this point so it’d be interesting–if only for me–to recontextualize my favorite albums alongside each other (did amnesiac really come out the same year as the marshall mathers lp?) and see what has withstood the test of time (hint: not hybrid theory.)

But the main reason I decided to go this route is because, let’s face it, one year isn’t quite enough time to check out all the music that comes out during it and, depending on when in the year the album came out, you may still be in the honeymoon phase or you may not have reached the second-listen-wait-this-album-is-way-better-than-i-realized-when-i-wrote-it-off-because-i-totally-disapproved-of-the-pretentious-and-expensive-way-it-was-distributed phase (i’m looking at you, king of limbs.) To give myself an idea of how quickly things change and to give you an idea of what type of thing to expect from the three forthcoming Top 10 Lists I’ve alluded to, this is my Top 10 Albums of the year list from last year.

1) Big Boi – Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty
I have to say, as much as I still totally love this album I might move it down a bit in favor of The Suburbs which I keep having my second-listen-wait-this-album-is-way-better-than-i-realized-when-i-wrote-it-off-because-i-totally-disapproved-of-the-pretentious-and-expensive-way-it-was-distributed phase with. You know what, never mind. Sir Lucious… is so good, I stopped skipping the bad songs.

2) Titus Andronicus – The Monitor
This one I would actually switch with The Suburbs. I think my honeymoon phase was especially long with The Monitor because the best song on the album is especially long.

3) Arcade Fire – The Suburbs You know the deal.
4) The Roots – How I Got Over
5) Dillinger Escape Plan – Option Paralysis

6) Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record
7) Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
8) Dr. Dog – Shame Shame
9) LCD Soundsystem – This Is Happening
010) Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – Mojo

Now that I’m revaluating this, I’d say I’d have to flip #5 and #4 as well as #7 and #8.

Clearly, it’s a very personal list, but for the most part, I think this is a pretty solid grouping of the best that dropped.

Check back soon for my Top 10 Albums of 1991, which will be much more interesting and honeymoon-free. (In the meantime, you may get a non-album list of some sort from me or another Baron.)

Also, I recommend diving back into 1991 with me to see if we agree. Great year for music.

